Navigation:  User Manual > Digital Repository > Material management >

Version History

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

The system manages the material versioning. A new version of a material is created when:

something is published on the DR which overwrites the material (e.g. publishing a material with the same ID) and which can be requested by the eXact Packager application or the web interface of the published material or an equivalent Web Server. This transaction can involve an amendment of the material's manifest and/or an amendment of one or more resources which form the content of the material
the material is updated using the Web Editor and the amendments are saved. This transaction involves the amendment of one or more resources which form the content of the material
the metadata of the material is updated using the web interface of the metadata editor and the amendments are saved. This transaction involves a modification of the manifest describing the material and is also performed with the trimming of the values or the fields
a roll-back operation of the previous material version is performed. This transaction can involve a modification of the manifest which describes the material and/or a modification of one or more resources which form the content of the material

 

The status of a material version essentially depends on the actions currently allowed on the material (particularly the editing and delivery actions) and possibly on the material status (checked-in or checked-out). The system allows the classification of a version status with the following values:

WORK: the material is "under work" (the editing and possibly the reviewing are allowed but not the delivery) and it has been published on the digital repository without being checked-in (e.g. the material has been checked-out by a user)
DRAFT: the material is still "under work" (the editing and possibly the reviewing are allowed but not the delivery) but it has been checked-in (e.g. the material is on the system and nobody is currently working on it)
FINAL: the material is not available for editing anymore, but it is still not available for delivery (e.g. only the reviewing is possibly allowed): it is therefore in a transitional status which is needed to manage possible “testing” phases
PUBLISHED: the material is available for delivery (the editing could still be allowed, depending on the workflow status setting of the material).

 

The publishing of a new material implies the creation of a version (number 1) to which the DRAFT status is assigned as, by default, when a new material is published the system allows its editing but not its delivery and the material is checked-in. The default settings can be modified by using the Change details option form the contextual menu that opens by right clicking on the number of a version. Please note that it is only possible to process status changes in ascending order:

From/To

Work

Draft

Final

Deliverable

Work

-

OK

OK

OK

Draft

OK

-

OK

OK

Final

-

-

-

OK

Deliverable

-

-

-

-

 

To view all the versions of a specific material, select "Version History" (Digital Repository > Search specific content > Version History). A window listing all the material versions will appear:

material_versions

By clicking on the number of a version, a pop-up window appears and the following options are available:

Preview: a pop up window with the file preview will appear. NOTE: if the browser is not able to recognise the file, an option to download the file will be presented.
Download: a physical copy of the file will be downloaded.
Download as PIF: to download the file as a standard PIF (Packet Interchange File), the zip will contain also a standard manifest file.
Version usage: lists all the links where this version has been used.
Branch: to create a new material as a branch of the selected version
Change details: from the pop up window that opens it is possible to edit and/or enter a label and description for the selected version and to change the version status by selecting one of the available options

Material_VersionDetails_M9

 

Track changes: to compare the selected version with the previous one (this option is available only for Learning Objects based on the XPT technology and for version 2 and above)

 

By clicking on the number of a version different from the last one, the pop-up window that appears will also have the options to manage the file versioning:

Rollback: creates a new "last version" of the material with the content of the old version selected;
Purge: deletes the selected material;
Make obsolete: marks the material as obsolete, using this option for a SCORM file, students enrolled in a course that uses this object will launch automatically the new version.

 

Please note that all information entered inside the Label and Comment fields while publishing or updating the material will be displayed in this window.