Navigation:  User Manual > System Configuration > Collaboration area >

Permissions

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

The system administrators can create an instance of a collaboration space, specifying detail as the Title, Description and type of collaboration area. It is not possible to define the collaboration URL: this value is automatically provided by the collaboration plug-in installed. During this operation, the specific collaboration plug-in creates or simply uses existing groups, roles and other authorization features in the collaboration area in order to authorize the users by their roles inside eXact LCMS.

The administrators can also delete the areas and synchronize users between eXact LCMS functional contexts and collaboration spaces inside the external system portal. For example, when a student is deleted from the course enrollment list, using this feature, it is possible to notify this change to the collaboration space.

 

Than the users that will access the collaboration area, will need special permissions:

 

1.Can moderate LMS courses's collaboration spaces: With this feature the user can moderate the entries to the collaboration area created at course level. The moderator is someone that can interacts in the collaboration area by using the services and features exposed by the external system, but can moderate discussion boards by removing messages of other collaborators.

 

2.Can access LMS courses's collaboration spaces: This feature permits to interact with other users in the collaboration area created at course level, in a separate browser window, using the authentication mode supported by the external system. The user with this permission is someone that can interacts in the collaboration area by using the collaboration services and features exposed by the external system; can access the collaboration space and use it, with permission to write and read post as defined for role specified in the external system.

 

3.Can manage portal's and domain's collaboration spaces: With this feature the user can modify the collaboration area details, as description and title, crated at portal (root) and domain level. Inside the external collaboration area the user can create a new space, modify and delete it, and acts as a super user.

 

4.Can moderate portal's and domain's collaboration spaces: This feature is the same as number 1 above but the user can moderate the entries to the collaboration area created at course system and domain level.

 

5.Can access portal's and domain's collaboration spaces: This feature is the same as number 2 above, but permits to interact with other users in the collaboration area created at system (root) and domain level, in a separate browser window, using the authentication mode supported by the external system.

 

These are the permissions to set:

collaboration_permission

Please see Manage user roles chapter for more information on how to access and modify roles and permissions.