To access the global parameters of the platform, select "System configuration > System parameters" from the main menu. The following window displays:

system_parameters1

system_parameters2

 

To change the platform's parameters, which apply to all system domains, click on "Edit" from the top left corner. The "System settings edit" window will be available:

system_settingEdit

 

From this window it is possible to manage different options.

Among others, we remind:

 

In the General section:

The Password expiration days (0 means no expiry date): After the indicated days, the user will be forced by the system to change the password.

 

NOTE: The Server administrator (and not from the above page) can also configure a platform password policy. The system can apply a reuse-policy based on number of passwords and within the period the password(s) were used. Specifically the user will have to comply with the rule: “Any new password that is listed in the password history list (spanning a time period of N days from the current date) may NOT be reused.” 

 

The Account expiration days (0 means no expiry date): If the users does not login in the platform for the indicated number of days, the account will be disabled.

In case of “expired” account, in the user’s personal information page (Home > Users management > [user name]) a system administrator or a user that can manage user’s account (having the relevant permission) will have a specific “Cancel expiration” button that allows to re-activate the specific account.

 

The Send daily report of failed logins (HH:MM): to configure timing of the automatic daily email report regarding failed login attempts. Fore more details, see Failed logins page.

 

NOTE: A similar option called: Suspend user, can be activated by the Server administrator (and not from the above page), that allows to set how many consecutive wrong login password the user can insert before the account is "suspended". Also in case of “suspended” account, in the user’s personal information page (Home > Users management > [user name]) a system administrator or a user that can manage user’s account (having the relevant permission) will have a specific “Cancel suspension” button that allows to re-activate the specific account. 

 

suspend

 

 

The two default page size settings fields indicated the maximum number of results that will be displayed on the screen during the search operations.

 

In the Review and comment management section:

It is possible to indicate the maximum number of notes and comments displayed on a single window view.

 

In the Digital Repository section:

It is possible to manage the security of the Digital Repository and the cache memory.

url


 

Digital repository: by clicking on Enable material security, the material stored in the DR will be accessible only after a system login, if the user will have enough privileges. Otherwise the material will be accessible by anybody using the material URL link (see a material url example in the picture on the right).

 

Http Cache section:

This configuration preserve a correct “no cached” environment to preserve WebEditor editing refresh and ensure the user to have immediate visibility of any change applied. It is recommended to leave unchanged this section.

Warning/Information area:

From this section, it is possible to enable a warning/information messages by selecting the desired type from the drop down menu. It is also possible to define where the message have to be displayed (in the login page, in the home page or both), the text colour and content.

To confirm all the performed changes, click on "Save". By clicking on "Reset", all the entered information will be cancelled. To close the window without saving, click on "Cancel".

From the top left of this window, by selecting Notifications it is possible to access the automatically generated e-mails settings (see the relevant Notifications chapter).